The award recognizes outstanding contributions to the field of Dialectical Behavior Therapy by way of research and treatment development. Previous recipients of the Research Award include Martin Bohus, MD (2004), Tom Lynch, Ph.D. (2005) and Shelley McMain, Ph.D., C. Psych. (2010).  The award  is given in recognition of  evidence of valuable contribution to the DBT Community on DBT and/or Borderline Personality Disorder.